PARIS !!!

Greetings from my Airbnb temporary home at 32 rue Bichat in the 10th Arondissement of Paris.  The photos are of my apartment in a building dating from 1832.  The beams and stone walls that you see in the photos are from the original construction and the apartment is on the second floor corresponding to the 3rd floor in the USA because the French call the ground floor (our first floor) the rez de chausee.  It is a nice climb up a spiral staircase so I feel a little bit like the characters in the opera La Boheme.  I saw briefly on my way here, Le Carillon and Le Petite Cambodge both in full operation after recovering from the terrorist attacks of November 2015.  There will be photos of them coming soon, as I will try both and give you my assessment of each of them.  It will be a bit of a surreal experience since during my prior visit both were shuttered and swathed in flowers and memorial writings to commemorate those who were killed or injured in the terrorist attacks.  Life in my adopted neighborhood seems very normal with people going about their normal lives:children going and coming from school, mothers out walking their babies, people shopping, strolling along the Canal St. Martin and generally enjoyint the fine early fall weather in Paris.  It is a balmy 81 degrees Farenheit today with bright sunny skies.  After a bit of unpacking I will be out to enjoy Paris.  If you have never experienced Paris in person, I highly recommend it.  I fell in love with Paris and France during my first brief visit here in 1980.  It has been interesting to see the changes that have occurred over the past 36 years which I have been able to observe during my nearly 25 prior visits but also to experience those iconic images that have changed little during that time: the Eiffel Tower, the Arch de Triomphe, the Louvre, the river Seine, the bistros, brasseries and of course most iconic of all the French people themselves,

Leave a Reply

