France and Spain are just around the corner.

In less than 72 hours I will embark on an extended visit to France and Spain beginning on September 12 and ending back here at home in Los Angeles on October 30.  The photos which accompany this post are a few that I selected from past trips and in the case of the sunset view, represents an image from the deck of the home that I once owned in Edmonds, Washington.  My trip this time will take me from Los Angeles to brief overnight stays in New York and  London and then on to Paris.  I will spend two weeks in Paris and for the first time I will stay in Airbnb venues rather than in hotels which I had always done in my many past visits to the City of Light.  This time I will stay in the 10th arrondissement very near to the canal St. Martin and only a few doors from the site of one of the terrorist attacks of November 2015.  My host there, Floriane, told me that Le Carillon and La Petite Cambodge which were both damaged and decorated with flower memorials and written epitaphs to those that died there when I visited in January 2016, are now open and again thriving.  I plan to visit them both and to sit where those unfortunate souls sat and try to envision what it must have been like for those who were out for an evening of food, drink and enjoyment of the pleasures of Paris, only to experience in an instant, either a loss of their lives or a mental and/or physical trauma never to be forgotten.  The purpose of my trip is not primarily to focus on the terrorist sites although I do plan to visit each of them again but mainly I want to try to experience life in the 10th as if I were a permanent resident there.  I plan to visit the restaurants and bars recommended by my two hosts in the 10th Floriane and Eric.  I will, of course report on my experiences staying in their Airbnb apartments as well as giving a detailed account in words and photos of the places they recommend as well as the general ambiance of the 10th.

After my 2 weeks in Paris I will travel to Nice where I will meet my daughter and together we will explore the “French Riviera” as we tend to call that area in the USA or La Cote d’Azure as the French tend to refer to it.  We will explore from Menton on the border with Italy to the east to Marseille on the far west of our travels and will include Nice, St. Paul, Cannes, St. Tropez, Aix en Provence, Avignon and Uzes to name just some of the locations we will visit.  We have a full schedule of sites and places to visit under the guidance of Patrick Rossi and his colleagues who provide services to tourists wishing to explore the area.

Next on my agenda I will travel to the Spanish Island of Mallorca, spending time in Palma, Valdemossa and Soller with a visit father north on the island to Pollenca and sites nearby.  I visited Mallorca last September but spent only a few days there and I was so captivated by the physical beauty, the history and the culture that I had to revisit with the plan to explore more in depth and again I will stay in Airbnb apartments and of course, I will report on my experiences there and on the restaurants and sites which I am able to explore as well.  At the end of that visit I will return to Los Angeles via London and New York arriving home on the second last day of October, just in time for Halloween.  Stay tuned for all of the exciting details.

Leave a Reply

