T Minus 2 Days

Less than 48 hours until my departure for New York and then on to London and Paris.  Back home here in Manhattan Beach, California the weather seems to want to resolve our drought in a couple of days.  It has been raining, to use an old expression, “cats and dogs” here for the second day in a row and  today accompanied by a few thunder claps which are very rare in these parts.  In reality it will take quite a few days like this and yesterday to make up for almost 5 years of hardly any rain at all in Southern California.

On to thoughts about New York.  I grew up in Buffalo, New York but that is about as far from New York City where I will go on Friday as night is to day.  Interestingly, however, Buffalo has generally been a fairly liberal and often democratic voting area, like New York City, while the rest of Upstate New York is generally conservative and republican voting.  My feelings about New York City are quite nicely summed up in the old adage that “it is a great place to visit but I wouldn’t want to live there!!”  I love the hustle and bustle for a while and of course the entertainment options are fantastic and maybe only rivaled by London for the variety and number of entertainment options.  During my visit I will see several Broadway performances including Noises Off, King Charles III, The Gin Game, A View From the Bridge, the Metropolitan Opera production of “Les Pechurs des Perles” or The Pearl Fishers by Georges Bizet, probably much better known as the composer of “Carmen.”  I will also see the Colidori Quartet and visit the Museum of Modern Art for the Picasso sculpture exhibit and take some time to see the Jackson Pollack installation too.  I will be reporting on all of those experiences and giving you, my readers, my thoughts on them so, please, stay tuned.

One thought on “T Minus 2 Days

Leave a Reply

